top of page

Award Recipients

Screen Shot 2022-10-22 at 4.26.30 PM.png

The Harriet Tubman

The Harriet Tubman Award is given to the women of NBSC. Harriet Tubman was called to be a Moses of her people. Each year, NBSC recognizes and honors one of its members who through her ministry is an advocate for Black people.  She has a strong identity within the Black community. She is responding to the call to be a Moses to her people.

1985     Sr. Thea Bowman, FSPA

1986     Sr. Elizabeth Harris, HVM

1987     Sr. Calista Robinson, OSF

1988     Sr. Delores Harrall, SNDdeN

1989     Sr. Antona Ebo, FSM

1990     Sr. Louis Marie Bryan, SC

1991     Sr. Cora M. Billings, RSM

1992     Sr. Roland Lagarde, SBS

1993     Sr. Patricia Haley, SCN

1994     Sr. Beatrice Jeffries, SBC

1995     Sr. Loretta T. Richards, FHM

1996     Sr. Lucy Williams, OSF

1997     Sr. Patricia J. Chappell, SNDdeN

1998     Sr. Anita Baird, DHM

1999     Sr. Jamie T. Phelps, OP

2000     Sr. Roberta Fulton, SSMN

2001     Sr. Eva Marie Martin, SSF

2001     Sr. Eva Marie Martin, SSF

2002     Sr. Jane Nesmith, SBS
2003     Sr. Josita Colbert, SNDdeN

2004     Sr. Juanita Shealey, CSJ
2005     Sr. Barbara Spears, SNJM

2006     Sr. Sr. Magdala Marie Gilbert, OSP

2007     Sr. Rosetta M. Brown, OP

2008     Sr. Donna banfield, SBS

2009     Sr. Maria G. Mannix, FHM

2010     Sr. Mary Ann Henegan, MSBT

2011     Sr. Rosella Marie Holloman, CSA

2012     Sr. Patricia Lucas, DHM

2013     Sr. Gayle Lwanga Crumbley, RGS

2014     Sr. Barbara Croom, ASC

2015     Sr. Ronnie Grier, OSF

2016     Sr. Patricia Rogers, OP

2017     Sr. Beulah Martin, SBS

2018     Sr.Thelma Mitchell, FSM

2019     Sr. Patricia Ralph, SSJ

2022.    Sr. Addie Lorraine Walker, SSND

bottom of page